Day 112 The Struggle is Real

Teachers work on weekends

It’s Sunday and I’m grading assignments, the last round before the semester ends.  Most students have been consistently submitting assignments all semester, but tonight I received this e-mail.  It’s a struggle when we get to the end of the semester and a student pleads to turn in a mountain of assignments in order to “catch up” and more importantly, to pass the course.  I have a late assignments policy outlined on the course syllabus as well as a policy for submitting multiple assignments.  Nevertheless, I cringe when students appear desperate to hand in “everything” before the semester grades are finalized.

From: STUDENT
Sent: Sunday, May 15, 2016 10:31 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica Lee <hubbard@cod.edu>
Subject: 166528 (2016SP Approaches College Writing II (ENGLI-0492-NET05)): Assignments?
 
I know that I sent in the rough draft a day late for unit 11. The only reason I handed it in late is because I spent most of yesterday in the hospital from a poisonous spider bite. It was really bad.  And I just couldn’t do my work because I had this bite that was oozing out yellow stuff.  I’m fine now but that’s why I didn’t hand it in.  I hope it’s okay because I need this course to graduate.  I couldn’t help being bitten. 
From: Hubbard, Danica Lee <hubbard@cod.edu>
Sent: Sunday, May 15, 2016 11:00 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica Lee <hubbard@cod.edu>
Subject: Re: 166528 (2016SP Approaches College Writing II (ENGLI-0492-NET05)): Assignments?
Thank you for letting me know.  I hope you are feeling better.
In looking at your grades in Blackboard, you are also missing:
 
·         Unit 3 Writing Assignment (10 points)
·         Unit 4 Writing Assignment (10 points)
·         Discussion Board 4 (10 points)
·         Unit 6 Cause or Effect Essay Draft (50 points)
·         Unit 6 Writing Assignment (10 points)
·         Unit 8 Writing Assignment (10 points)
·         Unit 9 Essay Draft Evaluation (50 points)
·         Unit 10 Final Essay Evaluation (100 points)
 
I have sent multiple late notices to you throughout the semester, but this is the first time you have responded.  At this point it is too late to submit all 8 assignments.  The semester ends next week.  Unfortunately, you are not passing the course (“F” grade).  
If you have questions, I’m here to help.  I am in the office (630) 942-2101 or e-mail: hubbard@cod.edu or stop by and see me in BIC 2516P.  
 
Danica Hubbard, Ph.D.
Professor, English
College of DuPage
425 Fawell Boulevard
Glen Ellyn, Illinois  60137-6599
(630) 942-2101
 
In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.  – Albert Einstein
 
Leave a Reply

