Day 19 Rinse and repeat.

Syllabus

Using shampoo is a lot like teaching online.  The cycle of wash, rinse and repeat involves following instructions and the repetition of steps in a process.

The additional time required to teach in an online format is largely from an increase in student contact and individualized instruction. Responding to questions can be more labor intensive than in a traditional format due to an electronic venue.   But exchanging online questions can also improve the quality of communication because it is archived and can be reviewed to promote a clear understanding. If a student asks me a question privately via e-mail, I may ask the student if I can share the answer to the question on our all-class Discussion Board or in our daily Announcements feed in order to clarify the same question other students may have as well.

The average number of e-mails I read and respond to per class can range from 450-700, depending on the semester’s time frame. Most e-mails contain a short message that includes an assignment attached.  But many student e-mails will pose multiple questions that require lengthy replies. If a student is having difficulty with a concept after several e-mail exchanges or the initial e-mail poses a complex question, I will suggest a telephone conversation or face-to-face meeting.

Here’s an example of a recent e-mail exchange with one of my online students:

________________________________________

From: Student
Sent:  4:30 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Hi Prof. Hubbard,
Can you explain why I got so many points off of my book and article summaries?
Thanks

Sent from my iPhone

From: Student
Sent:  4:45 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Good afternoon.  If you send me a copy of your book and scholarly journal article summaries I can review my comments and provide additional feedback.  I am in my office  if you’d like to discuss via phone.  In addition, I encourage you to look at the grading rubric posted in the course — it provides detailed information regarding expectations and grades.

Danica Hubbard, Ph.D.
Professor, English
College of DuPage
425 Fawell Boulevard
Glen Ellyn, Illinois  60137-6599
In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.  – Albert Einstein

From: Student
Sent:  9:02 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Hi again Professor Hubbard,
I am confused on what more you want in terms of the summaries. I see the corrections I got back and they are all pretty minor errors. Here are the three summaries.

From: Student
Sent:  7:20 AM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Good morning.  The assignments you attached are your originals.  Can you instead send me your assignments with the revisions I suggested?  The assignments should be highlighted in yellow and/or red text including links to supplemental information regarding unity and grammar.

Have you consulted the rubric within our course materials? The link is located beneath the syllabus link at the top of the screen.

We can review more in depth if you would like to give me a call in my office today.  I will be available anytime after 11:30 a.m.

– Dr. Hubbard

From: Student
Sent:  7:42 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Hi Professor Hubbard,
Here are my graded summaries.  I’m sorry, I didn’t realize there was a rubric.  I looked within the ‘course materials’ tab and cannot find it.  Can you please let me know where it is?

Once I find it, would it be possible for me to gain any points if I revise these summaries using the rubric?

Thanks.

From: Student
Sent:  8:30 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Good evening.  I have attached the grading rubric (you can also find it in a link below the syllabus link in our course materials).

Per the course syllabus, I do not offer extra credit.  However, we do have more assignments within the course before it ends (see point totals in the course syllabus). If you would like to send me future drafts of assignments, I would be happy to read and provide feedback.  If you choose to do this, I would ask that you send the drafts at least 3 days prior to the final due date to allow enough time for processing and revising.

As I have offered in previous e-mails, it is best to review feedback on assignments via phone or in person.  I will be on campus again on Monday morning.  Would you like to call or stop by and we can review your attached assignments? Please let me know.

– Dr. Hubbard

From: Student
Sent:  11:15 PM
To: Hubbard, Danica
Subject: Grades

Hey. So can I still get an A for this class?
Leave a Reply

